Nevada’s Laws For Marijuana: A Guide For Visitors
Despite the reputation of Nevada as being the last remnants of the Wild West, the fact is that there are still stringent laws in place for recreational substances. Marijuana, while legal, has certain aspects about it that need to be examined for travellers. Before you book your trip out to Las Vegas, read about the laws surrounding marijuana.
Both recreational and medical marijuana are able to be purchased throughout the state of Nevada as of November, 2016. However, there are laws on the amount that a person can carry on them and where it can be used that must be considered by all visitors.
Where Am I Allowed To Buy Marijuana?
Presently, you are allowed to buy marijuana at both dispensaries and retail outlets. The dispensaries have been in use for medical marijuana for some time, but they are now selling to recreational individuals as well. The retail stores have appeared throughout the state, but only a certain number of them are allowed in each county depending on size.
How Old Do You Have To Be To Possess Marijuana?
Like other states, marijuana is considered an intoxicant on the level of alcohol, so you need to be at least 21 years old to buy marijuana. The only relaxation of this law is if a person has medical needs.
Can I Grow Marijuana At Home?
The law states that a person is only allowed to grow plants if they are at least 25 miles away from the nearest dispensary. This effectively reduces the number of people who are allowed to cultivate their own weed to a handful relative to the entire population.
If you are 25 miles or more away from a dispensary, you are allowed to grow up to 6 plants at your home at any given time. This number goes up to 12 if you have two adults living in the home.
How Much Marijuana Is A Person Allowed To Buy?
The legal amount of marijuana that a person can purchase in a single transaction is limited to one ounce of marijuana for recreational purposes and 1/8 ounce for concentrates. There are fewer limitations for medical cases, where you can buy up to 2.5 ounces.
What Are The Limits On Possession?
Much like other states, you are allowed to possess an ounce of marijuana at any time. Any more than an ounce and you will face a fine.
Where Can You Use Marijuana?
You are only allowed to use cannabis on private property, not including private businesses that are open to the public. You cannot use marijuana in public or on federal lands. There is the potential for resorts to allow it in the future, but most hotels do not allow it now to avoid conflicts with federal laws that regulate them.
Nevada has made great strides in the development of their marijuana laws. They are rather typical in their overall assessment of cannabis policy, with the most unique facet being that they do not allow you to grow your own anywhere near an existing dispensary.